News

Mon, 06/05/2017

It's that time of year again--medallions for graduation made for and by DMSE students. Check out the video of the process here.

Thu, 05/18/2017

The fresco work of the Spring 2017's 3.094 class will be on display in 4-006.  Students recreated classic Greco-Roman frescoes through the incorporation...

Mon, 05/15/2017

This year's 3.042 final presentations will be held 5.16 @ 2pm in the Chipman Room, 6-104. 3.042 is “Materials Project Laboratory,” which serves as the capstone design course in the course 3 curriculum.

Two of the projects are of great interest to those interested in foundry materials:...

Thu, 02/09/2017

Would you like to finish your project from IAP? Are you looking for a creative outlet? Want to hammer on metal?

Open Foundry hours are every FRIDAY from 2-4pm.

Open Forge has moved to WEDNESDAYS from 5-7pm.

Open Metals Studio is every TUESDAY from 4:30-6:30pm.

Wed, 11/30/2016

Now you can find all three videos from the Metal Arts lecture series on youtube. Visit our channel here.

Thu, 09/08/2016

DMSE is proud to present Patterns of Excellence: Bob Kramer.  Master bladesmith Bob Kramer will share his relentless quest to forge the perfect knife....

Thu, 09/01/2016

Open forge will be held every Monday from 5-7pm in 4-006. Remember to wear closed-toe shoes and long pants. For more info, email jfhunter <at> mit.edu.

Tue, 07/05/2016

Beginning Tuesday, 07.12, those with previous metalworking experience are welcome to attend open Metal Lab hours from 4-6pm in 4-006. Feel free to pop-in and work on whatever you wish to.
 

Tue, 05/17/2016

Head to the foundry to finish up a wax work or begin a new casting project. Summer Open Foundry hours will be every Wednesday from 3-5pm. Remember to wear closed-toe shoes.

Thu, 04/07/2016

Each year, DMSE gives its graduating students  a cast bronze medallion of the MIT seal. These medallions are entirely prepared, cast and finished by students in...