News

Mon, 05/14/2018

3.042 final presentations, tomorrow, Tuesday May 15 at 2 pm in the Chipman Room (6-104). 3.042 is “Materials Project Laboratory,” which serves as the capstone design course in the course 3 curriculum.

There are four teams this semester, presenting at the following times:

2:05 pm: ...

Sat, 04/07/2018

Distinguished metalsmith and 2017 Society of North American Goldsmith's (SNAG)...

Fri, 02/02/2018

Looking to get back to metalworking in the lab? Open hours are as follows:

Open Metals Studio, Tuesdays, 4:30-6:30pm

Open Forge, Wednesdays, 5-7pm

Open Foundry, Friday, 3-5pm

Fri, 12/15/2017

Interested in learning a new skill? Join us for our metalworking classes during IAP, listed here. Hurry, spaces fill quickly!

Fri, 12/01/2017

This year's 3.042 final presentations will be held 12.07.17 @ 2pm in the Chipman Room, 6-104. 3.042 is “Materials Project Laboratory,” which serves as the capstone design course in the course 3 curriculum.

Wed, 11/29/2017

The Taşan group at MIT will host a full-day workshop titled “Sustainability through alloy design: challenges and...

Tue, 11/28/2017

Ph.D. canidate Brad Nakanishi of the Allanore group will present his final DMSE doctoral thesis defense titled, “On the electrolytic nature of molten aluminum and rare earth oxides” on 11.30.17 @10:15am in the Chipman Room, 6-104.

Fri, 09/15/2017

DMSE is happy to announce that Helen Shirk will be 2018's Metal Arts lecturer. She will present a talk of her work sometime during the spring semester. Stay tuned for details.

Tue, 09/12/2017

Fall Semester open hours in the Merton C. Flemings Materials Processing Lab, 4-006, are as follows:

Open Metals Studio, Tuesdays, 4:30-6:30pm

Open Forge, Wednesday, 5-7pm

Open Foundry, Fridays, 3-5pm

Mon, 06/05/2017

It's that time of year again--medallions for graduation made for and by DMSE students. Check out the video of the process here.