News

Thu, 09/01/2016

Open forge will be held every Monday from 5-7pm in 4-006. Remember to wear closed-toe shoes and long pants. For more info, email jfhunter <at> mit.edu.

Tue, 07/05/2016

Beginning Tuesday, 07.12, those with previous metalworking experience are welcome to attend open Metal Lab hours from 4-6pm in 4-006. Feel free to pop-in and work on whatever you wish to.
 

Tue, 05/17/2016

Head to the foundry to finish up a wax work or begin a new casting project. Summer Open Foundry hours will be every Wednesday from 3-5pm. Remember to wear closed-toe shoes.

Thu, 04/07/2016

Each year, DMSE gives its graduating students  a cast bronze medallion of the MIT seal. These medallions are entirely prepared, cast and finished by students in...

Wed, 02/10/2016

Open foundry will be held every Wednesday throughout the semester from 4-6 pm. Stop by to begin or continue wax work or surface finishing/patination of previous cast pieces.

Sat, 02/06/2016

Three Rings, Three Ways will be a weekly class that explores lost-wax casting, hard soldering, design construction, patination, bezel and tube stone setting, and forging. We will meet from 4-6:30 pm every Thursday, 02.18 - 03.31.16 in Room 4-006 (the MERT)...

Tue, 01/12/2016

Master blacksmith and world-renowned artist Albert Paley will present a survey of his inventive artwork, which spans four decades. Constantly aware of...

Mon, 11/30/2015

IAP 2016's Metal Classes are now available for registration. Visit the IAP 2016 site to view the upcoming class offerings.

Wed, 10/14/2015

The American Foundry Society toured the Merton C. Flemings Materials Processing Lab and presented Lab Director Mike Tarkanian with plaque in...

Fri, 09/18/2015

Beginning Tuesday, 9/22 Open Studio will be held from 4-6pm in Rm 4-006. Open Studio will continue every Tuesday throughout the semester. Feel free to drop in to continue working on unfinished pieces or begin a new project.